How To: Identify cuts of Prime beef

Identify cuts of Prime beef

Beef has many primal sections; the chuck, ribs, short loin, sirloin, round, flank, short plate, brisket, shank, and beef is rated by the USDA. Prime has the most marbling, followed by Choice, then Select, which has the least.

Prime also cost the most because only four percent of the animals meat qualifies as prime. These are the steakhouse or butcher shop quality meat; ribeye, porterhouse, t-bone, sirloin, and fillet. These Prime cuts are the best for grilling, because the marbling melts as it cooks and infuses the meat with flavor, by keeping it moist.

Check out this video tutorial from Holiday Kitchen TV and Summer Kitchen TV to learn the rest about how to identify cuts of prime beef. Selecting that right cut of beef is everything!

Life Hacks for Your Smartphone

Fresh tips every day.

1 Comment

I tried twice unsuccessfuly to sharemy thoughts on this subject. Obviously, since they are in disagreement with what is shown such thoughts are not allowed; so so much for that.

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest